Tuesday, March 5, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Jeffrey Lee Pierce
Sympathy For The Record Industry

Following the Gun Club's 1984 release, The Las Vegas Album, the band, never too stable anyway with a fluctuating lineup, disintegrated. Main man Jeffrey Lee Pierce released this solo album the following year, and it promptly sank under the radar. Newly reissued 10 years after Pierce's death, its worth is revealed as more than a curio, with Pierce consistently on form throughout.

Accompanied by a core pick-up band consisting of bassist John Mackenzie and The Cure's drummer, Andy Anderson, Pierce took on nearly all the guitar duties himself, exploring what sounds like a deep Tom Verlaine fixation in the process. With its crisp production and brittle-sounding guitars, Wildweed is a tight, disciplined collection of songs, and despite its title and cover image of Pierce pictured against a desolate rural landscape, this is a far more urban sound than the combination of punk blues and mutant swamp-rock usually associated with the Gun Club, best remembered for their striking 1981 debut, Fire of Love, which included "Sex Beat" and "She's Like Heroin to Me."

Keeping the rhythms angular — a sort of jerky, bleached-out funkless funk — Pierce and band go through their paces on a series of bleak rockers that mix bleak lyrical narratives with Television-style trebly guitar textures. Pierce's vocals are more controlled than on previous outings, less apt to wander off-key, and his guitar style, though fairly rudimentary, perfectly suits his songs, stripped down to urgent riffing and sparse, splintered solos.

Alongside the mainly mid-paced stuff, there are a couple of strong ballads — the piano-led "From Temptation to You" (Pierce's voice has a nice vibrato quality on the high notes here) and the histrionic "The Midnight Promise," which contains Pierce's best guitar solo on the album — and a storming, high-velocity title track, where Pierce finally blows his cool and lets rip with some explosive, fuzzy guitar. The tracks added to this reissue come from an EP appended to the original vinyl release, and if the Wildweed album proper shows Pierce at his most disciplined, the two spoken-word tracks, "The Fertility Goddess" and "Portrait of the Artist in Hell," unfortunately reveal his tendency towards pretension and self-indulgence, being, respectively, a William Burroughs pastiche and a poor attempt at avant-funk abstraction.

Rounding things off are a not-bad Flipper cover, "Get Away," and a pointless, very '80s remix of the album opener, "Love & Desperation." The original Wildweed is well worth hearing. Pierce followed it a couple of years later with a new Gun Club record, his late masterpiece Mother Juno (reissued alongside this album), but here you get a different side to Pierce, and work of a quality that's more deserving than mere footnote status.

by Tom Ridge

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC