Saturday, March 2, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Wolf Parade
Apologies To The Queen Mary
Sub Pop

Yes, Isaac Brock discovered them and brought them to Sub Pop. Yes, he produced their debut album. And, yes, they sound like Modest Mouse.

But there's more: Wolf Parade are good. No, they're really good.

How can a band sound a lot like another band, a one-of-a-kind one at that, and come away making you forget it matters? By being themselves.

And this doesn't always mean trying to make something brand new. For the members of Wolf Parade — vocalist/guitarist Dan Boeckner, keyboardist/electronics manipulator Hadji Bakara, keyboardist/vocalist Spencer King and drummer Arlen Thompson — this means being honest about who they and what their inspirations are. And if anything translates into good music, it's honesty.

Clearly, Modest Mouse inspired Wolf Parade's debut album, Apologies to the Queen Mary, but the Montreal band expressed enough true emotion on their album and have enough unique talent to make you forget all about Modest Mouse.

From the first few seconds of the album, you're hooked. The hard drumming, so precise and heavy, beckons you to march in tune on opening track "You Are a Runner and I Am My Father's Son" before it transitions into guitar feedback and distorted electronics. "Grounds for Divorce" most recalls Modest Mouse for Boeckner's Brock-like vocals, which cascade to hiccuping heights over spastic rhythms, ringing guitar and beats that chug like an oxygen machine on overdrive.

"Dinner Bells" is a sleepy, slow-paced track carried by a steady simple beat, gentle, ringing guitar, an occasional flute whistle and Boeckner's strained, brokenhearted yelp: "There'll be no more dinner bells/ Dinner bells to ring," he sings, sounding worn and weary.

The aptly titled closer "This Hearts on Fire" is the most emotional track on Apologies with its fevered builds, swift, pumping beats, and impassioned chorus with Boeckner so fired up it sounds like his voice got beat up and scratchy in the process. "It's getting better all the time," he sings fervently, "It's getting better all the time." Play Wolf Parade again — you'll most definitely want to — and you'll see it certainly is.

by Jenny Tatone

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC