Monday, April 22, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
The Perishers
Let There Be Morning

This record is so pretty. Sorry, I can't think of a deeper thinker of an opener here. But that's 'cause that's precisely what this record is: pretty. And not just an average kind of pretty; more of a "you're so pretty it's hard to look at you" pretty. Wow, I'm using the word "pretty" so much, it's started to take on a new ring... pretty, pretty. 'Tis indeed.

Dominated mostly by breakup songs — with the exception of the mortality-questioning title track and the frustrated-with-modern-life "Weekends" — Let There Be Morning is a warm, albeit teary, Sunday album, or the record that exaggerates your need to wallow in self-pity post-breakup.

Strung with just the right amounts of room-filling tearjerkers (lilting keys and strings), the record is likely to raise a lump in your throat, or at least make you feel fuzzy inside and go "awww" at its prettiness. The melodies are sweet and accessible. The cooing lead vocals are so soft and delicate, it's as if they are breathing right down your ear canal, caressing your romantic self.

But listen closely, and you'll see Sweden's The Perishers are not all rainbows-and-puppies pretty. Lead singer/songwriter and guitarist/pianist Ola Kluft unabashedly shares the darker late-night moments of his life. "One may think/ We're all right/ But we need pills/ To sleep at night/ We need lies/ To make it through the day/ We're not OK," Kluft concedes alongside guest vocalist Sara Isakson on the raw, heart-wrenching "Pills."

And he has no qualms about being honest with emotion and heartbreak. "I'm having trouble sleeping/ You're jumping in my bed/ Twisting in my head/ Leave me," Kluft moans on the intimate and achy "Trouble Sleeping." "I'm having trouble breathing/ You're sitting on my chest/ I sure could use the rest/ Leave me."

It's also irresistibly easy to identify with his pain on the infectious "My Heart," which pairs desperate lyrics with upbeat beats. "It's my heart you're stealing/ It's my heart you take/ It's my heart you're dealing with/ And it's my heart you'll break."

Let There Be Morning is so pretty, I can hardly stand to look, even though I do — again and again and again. On most Sundays anyway.

by Jenny Tatone

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC