Tuesday, March 5, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Audio Fiction
Songs In The Key of Orange Alert EP

Call it either a strange coincidence or an extreme PR move: Audio Fiction released their new EP, Songs in the Key of Orange Alert, so named because the songs were recorded in New York while the city was under that terror warning, at the same time a new Orange Alert was announced not long ago. Yet, save for one song, the record is not overly political, or even a sonic signpost of the times. Instead, the six songs on the album sound like a throwback to the decade VH1 loves to recall so nostalgically: The 1980s. At their recent record release party in New York, a friend remarked that watching an Audio Fiction show reminded him of a high-school dance party. And it's true — the band's performance did invoke the spirit of the Brat Pack era, right down to a revved-up cover of Tiffany's version of Tommy James and the Shondells' "I Think We're Alone Now."

Audio Fiction describe their sound as a cross between Blondie and No Doubt, because like those groups, AF are fronted by a female lead singer, Mimi Ferraro. She has a truly dynamic voice, a potent combination of toughness and vulnerability more akin to Chrissie Hynde than Deborah Harry (and thankfully lacking Gwen Stefani's petulant girlishness). The music itself is catchy power-pop made with the typical guitar/drums/bass lineup. And while the raucous and highly danceable tunes seem like they could be the soundtrack to a John Hughes movie, they aren't retro in a bad-'80s-cover-band sort of way.

The opening track, "Tick Tock," is deliriously enjoyable ear candy, and at first it sounds like simply a good party song. After all, the "bells are ringing/ The crowds are flocking" — but then you realize there's a particular "American psycho" Ferraro's railing against, a certain president who can't pronounce the word "nuclear." Yeah, it's an anti-Bush song (and was released as a single just in time for Republican National Convention of some weeks ago, which, of course, took place in the band's hometown of New York City), but the song is so much fun to bop around to like you're 14 years old that it's hard to pay much attention to what Ferraro's singing about. This would be good news for a track like "Don't Do It." The song has a cool, caustic attitude, with snarly guitars and vocals, but when you realize the singer's getting all worked up just about people who quit their jobs on a whim, it's hard not to feel let down. Ferraro sings "Don't do it/ Don't quit your job and walk away" with more urgency than a line like that deserves. Maybe it's me, but with today's economy and general state of affairs, I can't imagine anyone impulsively quitting his or her job to goof off or get a tan.

"Impenetrable," on the other hand, is an example of a great marriage between music and words. It also best showcases Ferraro's voice in a gorgeous, sultry tune as she expresses her frailty in a romantic entanglement that has her pleading "not for salvation/ Just grace." While sometimes the lyrics in the EP's other songs can be almost painfully literal, "Impenetrable" is much more evocative in its imagery of light and darkness, creating a mood of sensuous melancholy. Only "Bless Me" comes as close to capturing the same impassioned blend of helplessness, urgency and desire, and if trimmed of some generic phrasings, would be the standout track of the collection.

Songs in the Key of Orange Alert offers a sense of what Audio Fiction are capable of, and suggests that with a bit of growth, they could be a contender. It will be interesting to see what the band comes up with when they record a full album.

by Kirthana Ramisetti

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC