Tuesday, March 5, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Various/Erlend Øye
DJ Kicks (review #1)

In Bergen, Erlend Øye was known, from his teenaged days, as a fanboy around town, the guy with the red hair and large spectacles, always down the front, always eager to meet the band. When Belle & Sebastian first came to town, Erlend nearly cried; and, from there, it's not a big step to the time when Øye himself b'came famous, as one half of ultra-soft soft-pop acoustic duo Kings of Convenience, who're kinda the Norwegian new-millennial equivalent of Simon & Garfunkel. Initially inked up to Americkn twee-pop enclave Kindercore, Kings of Convenience soon came aboard on Source, and, in such company, Erlend got to meet a whole bunch of the right elecktro folk. So, in 2001 and 2002, he hooked up with a bunch of shithot beatmakers, letting his New Order fanboy fantasies play out to the peerless programming punched in by Schneider TM, Prefuse 73, Minizza, Morgan Geist, and Soviet. After his awesome Unrest longplayer arose in ought-two, Øye then learned that, once you've made an electronick record, people assume you know how to DJ, meaning that he suddenly had to polish up on his turntable skills so he could let his nascent elecktro fame pay the bills. But, like any songsmith worth his weight in Smiths longplayers, the Norwegian crooner soon found that merely sequencing together records isn't really that interesting. And, so, as disc-jockey, he soon start'd indulging in karaoke, singing along with his favorite tracks, then over instrumental versions of his favorite tracks, and, then, in mixin'-up spirit, singing lyrics from his favorite songs over completely different tracks. And there's plenty of this going on throughout his choice DJ Kicks set, in which he croons "Always on My Mind" over Skateboard, "Intergalactic Autobahn" over Justus Köhncke, "Venus" (getting the lyrics wrong) over Usui Fantasia, and "There Is a Light That Never Goes Out" over a bangin' remix of Röyksopp, that track as much under the influence of his pal Schneider TM as his childhood hero Morrissey. Speaking of pals, Øye keeps much of his set close to home, spinning songs from collaborateurs Minizza and Morgan Geist, and even dishing up mixes of a couple of his own cuts. And the best back-to-back comes when he serves up Kings of Convenience's remix of Cornelius's amazing "Drop," which finds him singing (on the record) in his native Norse tongue; then, as the song nears its close, he starts murmuring the first voice from Phoenix's killer pop-song "If I Ever Feel Better," this foreshadowing him dropping that evergreen single mere bars later. He does a similar thing with The Rapture's "I Need Your Love," singing the first verse in karaoke style over the intro, b'fore handing things over to Luke Jenner for the authentic on-record neo-no-wave wailing.

by Anthony Carew

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC