Monday, April 22, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
The Silver Mt.Zion Memorial Orchestra & Tra-La-La Band With Choir
"This Is Our Punk-Rock," Thee Rusted Satellites Gather + Sing

Any soldier in the army of Godspeed You! Black Emperor family fandom has long known that the artists occasionally known as A Silver Mt. Zion have been, since their inception, the most inspiring light shining in the Constellation roster of post-rockist stars, this "side-project" for a slew of GY!BE humans — led by Godspeed! leader Efrim, no less — being an outing that has quickly become infinitely more indispensable than the parent band that birthed it. Since they debuted with a disc called He Has Left Us Alone, but Shafts of Light Sometimes Grace the Corner of Our Rooms..., ASMZ have shown a preponderance towards preposterous titles and delivered music made with a personal approach that differs much from the collectivist vehicle of the GY!BE rockband. Where that big-brother big-band stands on prized political tenets and rests on acclaimed laurels, this other outing was initially conceived as being a close-to-solo venture for Efrim, in which he could sing songs (yes, sing them!) he'd authored in the period of mourning following the death of his recently-deceased dog (this latest album being openly dedicated to "all the four-legged ones and for bruised hearts worldwide"). Of course, with each incarnation of Silver Mt. Zion, things have grown in size and scope. Where, on that first disc, they were merely A Silver Mt. Zion, by their second record Born Into Trouble as the Sparks Fly Upward, they were The Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra & Tra-La-La Band, and, now, on their third album "This Is Our Punk-Rock," Thee Rusted Satellites Gather + Sing, they're The Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra & Tra-La-La Band With Choir. Meaning, that not only has Efrim found his voice here, but with this action they invite along a whole lusty chorus of sufferers to wail away with the woes of the modern world. And, in keeping with this growing grandness, where "This Is Our Punk-Rock"... really differs from its predecessors is in the way it is staged. Just as on Godspeed! gear, here they've divided the disc up into four long "sections," these tiniest worried symphonies stretched out into different acts that're housed within the same suite. Whilst part of the appeal of this side-project was once that they'd scaled-down things — like track-length — from their regular band, now ASMZ is starting to see itself as being as important as GY!BE, this four-side concept-record an outing of grand themes and strong voice and restless spirit that sounds like no man's "side-project."

by Anthony Carew

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC