Friday, March 1, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Spirit In Stone

Hailing from Portland, Ore., the Lifesavas (AKA Vursatyl and Jumbo the Garbageman) have been bringing the heat ever since they hit the road with Blackalicious last year. During this stint, the two-man team steadily rocked crowds in all corners, prompting Bay Area hip-hop label Quannum to offer them a spot in the ranks. After a string of impressive 12s, the Lifesavas now return with their stellar debut album, Spirit in Stone.

Swarming with tight beats, soulful grooves and visceral poetics, Spirit in Stone is a solid first full-length outing for the Lifesavas crew. Drawing stylistic influences from '70s funk and soul as well as their hip-hop roots, the Lifesavas mesh early hip-hop aesthetics with an experimental sensibility that keeps things interesting throughout.

With Vursatyl on the mic and Jumbo holding down the production duties, the Lifesavas bring a raw, infectious vigor that flickers only a few times over the album's 16 tracks. Opening up with the sultry "Soldierfied," the Lifesavas crew waste no time in staking their claim, delivering a serious dose of souled-out funk. The fire continues with the gritty "It's Over," in which Vursatyl kicks a lethal lyrical flow over a tight fusion of horn stabs, vocal punches and pinpoint scratches.

Conjuring up memories of the De La Soul classic "Ego Trippin'," Vursatyl speaks out, on "HelloHiHey," about the growing need to check MC egotism. Driven by a searing Spanish guitar loop, "HelloHiHey" is a self-evaluating, true-to-life cue to which every serious MC should lend an ear. ("Though we're good friends, it never ends/ Your self-destructive, massive ego/ I never hold a grudge, cause love is the way/ HelloHiHey") On the equally conceptual "Skeletons," Jumbo puts together an abstract mishmash of chiming harpsichord, liquid beats and Smurf-like choruses. Though sounding outright ridiculous at first, "Skeletons" is, in fact, a finely tuned endeavor that gets better with each subsequent listen.

Other highlights include the soul-inflected "Selector," in which Vursatyl and J-Live swap striking verses over a melodic horn sequence, and the aptly titled "Head Exercise," in which Jumbo slices and dices vocal tracks over crackling snares. The album's real high point, however, is "Emerge," which brings together the mighty skills of the Lifesavas with those of seasoned members of the Quannum crew: Latyrx, Omega, Blackalicious and even DJ Shadow. Laced with pinpoint scratches, verbal acrobatics and a breakneck backbeat, "Emerge" is a tightly orchestrated, chopped-up, blistering banger that never lets up.

Chock-full of conscious rhymes and unadulterated funk, the Lifesavas' debut album carries the Quannum trademark in style.

by John McCormack

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC