Wednesday, April 24, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
The Sea And Cake
Thrill Jockey

It's an old EP (or minidisc) trick, having two versions of the same song on a disc that only has five or six songs to begin with. I've bought EPs that included a favorite pop song with a giddy joy because I'd get to hear the song twice. And I've bought EPs where the double dose of a single song makes the disc a chore to listen to. But I don't think I've ever listened to the same song back to back without realizing it was the same until I looked at the cover of the CD. The Sea and Cake's EP, Glass, released just on the heels of their full-length disc, One Bedroom, begins with two versions of the same song. But for me, the distracted listener posing as a critic, the songs sound entirely different.

I've listened to Glass more than a dozen times now, sometimes at the height of distraction, with not only my two noisy children in the room, but some of their slithering pets as well. And I've listened to it alone, with earphones. And I can't tell which is the stronger force in masking the similarities between the two tracks: the frantic child with a missing pet slug in my dining room or the deft composition and production of John McEntire.

Both versions of "To the Author" could be played on a dance floor, especially one in 1980s Manchester. The first version has some electronic elements, but the tune is mainly propelled by guitars and Sam Prekop's breathy vocals. It sounds a little like New Order, with a slightly menacing, rhythmic strumming quietly skulking in the background while the keyboards prance around in the foreground. The second version, and second track, is admittedly similar. It just took me longer than it should have to notice. It's the same electropop mix of organic and electronic, but here the percussion is more prominent. The skulking strumming is still hanging around, quietly begging to be noticed.

On "Traditional Wax Coin," the band's link to Thrill Jockey label mate Tortoise can be heard clearly. McEntire, who produced and plays drums on this disc, is also in Tortoise. It's a quiet and unassuming song, picking up different blips and hums as it moves along, but as in most tracks on the disc, the guitar is the lead. There's enough of a groove to make it nice background music, pleasantly propelling such activities as cleaning up slug slime or talking about how slugs weren't meant for a life in captivity. But there are layers and twists that reward a close listen too.

After I had cleared the children and slug out of the house, I realized that there is another repeated track on the disc. "Hotel Tell," a track from One Bedroom, also appears twice — but not back to back. One version is a remix by Stereolab and the other is by Carl Craig. The Craig remix, or "C's mix," as it's listed on the disc, is a more-than-eight-minutes-long, throbbing dance track. It sounds completely different from the other tracks on the disc. Craig lets the song slowly build up, adding another layer of beats with each stanza, which gives Prekop's whispery voice a sense of urgency. The song is long enough and big enough to swallow up the nagging concerns that try and interfere with the music (if you let them); in fact, it even swallows up The Sea and Cake. Once the three minutes or so of Prekop's vocals are over, the track seems to leave The Sea and Cake behind and become a DJ track, with looped sounds standing in for the band's instruments. But that's what I like about this disc. Each of the seven tracks, which are really only four songs, meander around, often stopping in a completely different place from where they started. They are just similar enough to blend together in a close listen, but they also work as a diverse soundtrack behind whatever it is you're doing.

by Lori Miller Barrett

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC