Wednesday, April 24, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Loose Fur
Loose Fur
Drag City

The alt-world conquering by all things Jeff Tweedy accelerates in 2003. By the time that stupid War in Iraq is over, we'll all be sick of him. In a roll call that doesn't even include the Uncle Tupelo reissues, he's releasing enough music in the early part of this year to make Robert Pollard shake his head in disbelief. Seriously: there's the DVD of the film ("I Am Trying to Break Your Heart"), the Minus 5 album (Down With Wilco), the Wilco EP, and probably strangest of all, this Loose Fur album. To my ears, Loose Fur is essentially a one-off jam session between Tweedy, multi-everything Jim O'Rourke and drummer Glenn Kotche. And like all jam sessions, it alternates moments of bullshit with moments of brilliance — sometimes within the same song!

The actual session predates Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but it's certainly related. The opening track, "Laminated Cat," is known to fans of the YHF demos as "Not for the Season," and its dual-guitar build sets the pace for the rest of the record: long, steady-grooved songs that often build into something else. You can almost hear Tweedy opening his mind to the next phase in his music — much of the feel on Loose Fur isn't replicated as much on YHF as on the live shows that followed it.

So "Elegant Transaction" starts out a bit like Nick Drake but mutates into a cross between a lost Forever Changes outtake: that is, if Arthur Lee had conceived it as a bluegrass album. "So Long" starts with the chattering guitar that infiltrated "I'm the Man Who Loves You," and after Kotche stops randomly hitting his cymbals, it evolves into almost a slow, sad shuffle with an endless "Da da da da" chorus.

They kinda messed up with "You Were Wrong:" it's an actual song, and wouldn't be out of place on YHF, except for the fact that it's not all that great.

Finally, there's the gorgeous "Chinese Apple," another slow starter that glides on a bed of acoustic guitars for awhile until they discover another repeating riff lurking that they then mount and ride home.

Overall, Loose Fur is kinda interesting, especially as a historical document, but it's not much more than that. It's for fans only, and nothing wrong with that. I'm one, of course, but I'm guessing that I'm speaking for more than one fan when I say: yeah, cool, but when's the next full-length Wilco album coming out?

by Jim Connelly

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC