Thursday, February 22, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Le Tigre
Remix 12"
Mr Lady/Ascension

2001's Feminist Sweepstakes saw Le Tigre fortifying insistent melodies with the electro-punch of beats, loops and samples. Now the inevitable remix EP has reared its (well programmed) head.

With the exception of "Mediocrity Rules" and "Deceptacon" (which have been pried loose from Le Tigre's first two releases), the tracks are taken from Feminist Sweepstakes. Initially, the notion of DJs digitally tampering with Le Tigre's work to make the songs more danceable seemed absurd because, frankly, their tunes are already delectably geared to move your limbs and feet. (In a hybrid-rock kind of fashion, admittedly.)

Most of the DJs involved on Remix 12" seem to fit Le Tigre's brief of tapping into electronic music to further feminist practices. Analog Tara, AKA Tara Rodgers, who is responsible for the EP's souped-up opener, "Tres Bien (Nouveau Disco Mix)," is a house producer who edits "Pink Noises," a Webzine focused on women in electronic music. Detroit-based drum 'n' bass DJ Lauren Flax puts on a club night for women named Femme Fatale, and turns in the stand-out track on Remix 12". Her "Much Finer (the Flaxdatass Mix)" centers on sulky basslines, looped yells, crunchy guitar snarls and doleful hooks.

Two-step New York DJ Reid Speed bumps up the nervous tics of "Dyke March 2001" and fleshes out the drum 'n' bass on her "Aphro-Dykey Mix." Meanwhile, under the banner of side project Swim With the Dolphins, Le Tigre's Johanna Fateman whips up a remix of "On Guard" fueled with digital urgency and percussive pluck.

Ironically, it's the remix of "Mediocrity Rules" (courtesy of DJ Ham & Rye) which is the EP's lowlight. It comes across as one-note and flat, and there are moments when Remix 12" seems prone to Regulation Remix Syndrome — are the songs there just for the novelty of being remixed, or do they work as effective standalone tracks?

So while Feminist Sweepstakes took out Top-10-album-of-the-annum honors last year, Remix 12" is fun, but not as essential.

by Lee Tran Lam

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC