Friday, July 10, 2020 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
All Tomorrow's Parties 1.0

Compilations are good for several things — mix tapes, conversations, and, at worst, as Frisbees. (And not very good Frisbees at that.) All Tomorrow's Parties 1.0isn't projectile-worthy in any case: from the crippling darkness created by Black Heart Procession to the slinky tics of Prefuse 73, it's an eclectic and vivid companion piece to the selfsame music festival, curated by Tortoise, earlier this year.

While "previously unreleased tracks" compilations lure us with what turn out to be previously bin-consigned outtakes or songs of nano-quality, the work on All Tomorrow's Parties 1.0 is of a surprisingly high standard. In "Cliff Dweller Society," Tortoise create a series of short curiosities, from fragments of brass-laden majesty to a steadfast clinking reminiscent of someone balancing glassware. Rick Rizzo and Tara Key's "Sinfo" haunts with a vast sense of desolation, like the sweeping bleeds of a painted desert nightscape. With its motif of children's laughter and forlorn sense of artifice, the Boards of Canada contribution, "In A Beautiful Place Out in the Country," is as eerie and beautiful as a long-lost memory.

It's disappointing that the twee sophistication of the Sea and Cake has been electronically rendered beyond recognition (ditto the Broadcast contribution), but the electronic and hip-hop artists less familiar to me make up for it. When one ATP punter was asked who he looked forward to seeing at the festival, he mentioned album contributors Yo La Tengo and Autechre, "who I know a bit of, " but added, "It's the not-knowing thing that's good." That's part of the reason this compilation works well — you can expect the surprises to be rewarding.

The liner notes of All Tomorrow's Parties 1.0 end with this: "In an era when the original artform is now exhausted or in some cases redundant, this record will hopefully restore your faith in music because immitation [sic] is trying to dupe us all." As a counterbalance, it may be noted that my 7-year-old sibling responded to Russell Haswell's glitch-tinkering with a passionate "This song is disgusting!"

by Lee Tran Lam

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC