Saturday, May 25, 2024 
--archival-captured-cinematronic-continuity error-daily report-datastream-depth of field--
--drama-44.1 khz-gramophone-inquisitive-needle drops-picture book-twinklepop--
Neumu = Art + Music + Words
Search Neumu:  

44.1kHz = music reviews

edited by michael goldbergcontact

Editor's note: We have activated the Neumu 44.1 kHz Archive. Use the link at the bottom of this list to access hundreds of Neumu reviews.

+ Donato Wharton - Body Isolations
+ Svalastog - Woodwork
+ Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet
+ Rosy Parlane - Jessamine
+ Jarvis Cocker - The Jarvis Cocker Record
+ Múm - Peel Session
+ Deloris - Ten Lives
+ Minimum Chips - Lady Grey
+ Badly Drawn Boy - Born In The U.K.
+ The Hold Steady - Boys And Girls Together
+ The Blood Brothers - Young Machetes
+ The Places - Songs For Creeps
+ Camille - Le Fil
+ Wolf Eyes - Human Animal
+ Christina Carter - Electrice
+ The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
+ Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
+ Various Artists - Musics In The Margin
+ Rafael Toral - Space
+ Bob Dylan - Modern Times
+ Excepter - Alternation
+ Chris Thile - How To Grow A Woman From The Ground
+ Brad Mehldau - Live in Japan
+ M Ward - Post-War
+ Various Artists - Touch 25
+ The Mountain Goats - Get Lonely
+ The White Birch - Come Up For Air
+ Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out of This Country
+ Coachwhips - Double Death
+ Various Artists - Tibetan And Bhutanese Instrumental And Folk Music, Volume 2
+ Giuseppe Ielasi - Giuseppe Ielasi
+ Cex - Actual Fucking
+ Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
+ Leafcutter John - The Forest And The Sea
+ Carla Bozulich - Evangelista
+ Barbara Morgenstern - The Grass Is Always Greener
+ Robin Guthrie - Continental
+ Peaches - Impeach My Bush
+ Oakley Hall - Second Guessing
+ Klee - Honeysuckle
+ The Court & Spark - Hearts
+ TV On The Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
+ Awesome Color - Awesome Color
+ Jenny Wilson - Love And Youth
+ Asobi Seksu - Citrus
+ Marsen Jules - Les Fleurs
+ The Moore Brothers - Murdered By The Moore Brothers
+ Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
+ The 1900s - Plume Delivery EP
+ Alejandro Escovedo - The Boxing Mirror
+ Function - The Secret Miracle Fountain
+ Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
+ Loscil - Plume
+ Boris - Pink
+ Deadboy And The Elephantmen - We Are Night Sky
+ Glissandro 70 - Glissandro 70
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #2)
+ Calexico - Garden Ruin (Review #1)
+ The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
+ The Glass Family - Sleep Inside This Wheel
+ Various Artists - Songs For Sixty Five Roses
+ The Fiery Furnaces - Bitter Tea
+ Motorpsycho - Black Hole/Blank Canvas
+ The Red Krayola - Introduction
+ Metal Hearts - Socialize
+ American Princes - Less And Less
+ Sondre Lerche And The Faces Down Quartet - Duper Sessions
+ Supersilent - 7
+ Band Of Horses - Everything All The Time
+ Dudley Perkins - Expressions
+ Growing - Color Wheel
+ Red Carpet - The Noise Of Red Carpet
+ The Essex Green - Cannibal Sea
+ Espers - II
+ Wilderness - Vessel States

44.1 kHz Archive

peruse archival
Old 97's
Satellite Rides

After Fight Songs by Old 97's made nearly all the "Best Albums of 1999" lists, I had to rush out and get it — I needed to know what all the hype surrounding the practically unknown Texas four-piece was about. To tell the truth, I wasn't all that impressed by the record, or for that matter, the band — that is , until I read a review of their 2000 EP Early Tracks and thought, "Now, that's more up my alley." Right away, I fell in love with each drunken, poor-me country song. I just loved it — and laughed — that all this Hank Williams-type country music was coming out of a Brit-Invasion looking group. So with two opposing views of the band, I felt hesitant about buying their new album Satellite Rides. Well, about two and half seconds into lead track "King of All the World," the ongoing battle was put to rest: I love this band. Even more, I love their new crafty record. Satellite Rides is happy, light and catchy. Without grave politics or deep, heart-wrenching topics, it's the kind of jangly record that makes you smile. Not because it lacks depth, but because the depth isn't taken so seriously. Like when you're living your life day to day, lost in all the stress and anxiety, but then you step back for a moment and think it's really not so bad at all, and you smile — you get that same weightless, content feeling from listening to this album. With "Am I Too Late" and "Up the Devil's Pay" you'll find the same old-style country feel that you got from Early Tracks. But the rest of the record, albeit country-tinged, is infectious, musically complex pop led by Rhett Miller's distinctly desperate singing. "Rollerskate Skinny" is perhaps the most fun, with its contagious beats and witty, sometimes bizarre lyrics: "Love feels good when it sits right down/ Puts its feet up on the table and it sends a bowl around / I believe in love but it don't believe in me." The beautiful "Weightless" is one of the album's softer songs. Amid underwater guitar riffs and tambourine jingles, Miller sings of a better, easier existence: "All the bad things are gone/ All the good things are here/ Almost exactly like this place where you and I are fighting yeah/ I'm so sick and tired of fighting yeah/ Up there we'll never fight at all." Dabbling in pop, country and rock, the band can't be categorized. They're sappy, serious and sarcastic all at once. That's what makes them so different, so great.

by Jenny Tatone

-snippetcontactsnippetcontributorssnippetvisionsnippethelpsnippetcopyrightsnippetlegalsnippetterms of usesnippetThis site is Copyright © 2003 Insider One LLC